Minnesota Dairy Youth Win National DHIA Scholarships

Minnesota Dairy Youth Win National DHIA Scholarships

Twelve Minnesota students bring home $750 scholarships.

The National Dairy Herd Information Association Scholarship Committee selected 21 high school seniors and college students from across the U.S. as recipients of $750 scholarships.

Judges evaluated applicants on scholastic achievements, leadership in school and community activities, and responses to DHI- and career-related questions. To be eligible for a National DHIA scholarship, applicants must be a family member or employee of a herd on DHI test, a family member of a DHI employee, or an employee of a DHI affiliate. The DHI affiliate for the herd or affiliate employee must be a National DHIA member.

Minnesota Dairy Youth Win National DHIA Scholarships

This year's National DHIA scholarship winners from Minnesota are: Nathan Daninger, Forest Lake; Rebecca Groos, Howard Lake; Thomas Harren, Eagle Bend.; Chelsey Johnson, Heron Lake.; Kathleen Miron, Hugo.; Sara Roerick, Swanville; Alyson Schwartau, Red Wing; Justin Siewert, Lake City; Jacob Sjostrom, Lafayette; Joe Uter, Waverly; Megan Viland, Pipestone; and Kaylee Wegner, Faribault

This year marks the fourth consecutive year for awarding a scholarship in memory of Joe Drexler, who worked for NorthStar Cooperative DHI Services. NorthStar members and employees, friends and family contributed nearly $10,000 to establish this scholarship fund.

Money generated from the annual National DHIA Scholarship Auction primarily funds the organization's scholarship program. Investments and donations also help build the fund. To make a donation to the fund, contact National DHIA Scholarship committee chair Barb Roth at 616-897-7435, or [email protected];  or National DHIA communications and events manager JoDee Sattler at 608-848-6455, ext. 112, or [email protected].

Source: National DHIA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.